Everything you need to know about NAATI CCL test

Blog Banner

From March 2018, NAATI has introduced a new testing system for people seeking to migrate in Australia. If you pass NAATI CCL(Credential Community Language Test), you can claim 5 points for your points based on Australian skilled migration.

“If you pass CCL, you can not work as an interpreter or translator. You need to have at least  either provisional interpreter or translator certification to work.”

Some common queries about NAATI CCL

Where can I give CCL test (test locations)?

You can not sit for the CCL test from outside Australia. NAATI test centre is available only in the following cities.

  1. Adelaide
  2. Brisbane
  3. Canberra
  4. Hobart
  5. Melbourne
  6. Perth
  7. Sydney

What are the available languages for NAATI CCL?

Although there are 6,500 languages in the world, Naati CCL test is available in only 47 following languages.

  1. Albanian
  2. Arabic
  3. Assyrian
  4. Bangla
  5. Bosnian
  6. Bulgarian
  7. Burmese
  8. Cantonese
  9. Croatian
  10. Czech
  11. Dari
  12. Dutch
  13. Filipino
  14. Finnish
  15. French
  16. German
  17. Greek
  18. Hazaragi
  19. Hindi
  20. Hungarian
  21. Indonesian
  22. Italian
  23. Japanese
  24. Khmer
  25. Korean
  26.  Lao
  27.  Malay
  28.  Mandarin
  29.  Pashto
  30.  Nepali
  31. 30. Pashto
  32. 31. Persian
  33. 32. Polish
  34. 33. Portuguese
  35. 34. Punjabi
  36. 35. Romanian
  37. 36. Russian
  38. 37. Serbian
  39. 38. Sinhalese
  40. 39. Somali
  41. 40. Spanish
  42. 41. Swahili
  43. 42. Tamil
  44. 43. Thai
  45. 44. Tigrinya
  46. 45. Turkish
  47. 46. Urdu
  48. 47. Vietnamese

How the test is marked?

At least two trained examiners mark CCL tests independently. The CCL test comprises two dialogues and each dialogue is marked by the examiner using a deductive marking system. Examiners consider the types of error present in the candidate’s performance and the impact of those errors in determining the deductions they will make. Each dialogue receives a mark out of 45. In order to pass a candidate needs to score at least 29 out of 45 for each dialogue and score at least 63 out of 90 overall. When NAATI issues the result for the CCL test it will be based on the mark achieved:

  • PASS: 63 or higher (out of 90)
  • MARGINAL FAIL: between 55 and 62.5 (out of 90)
  • CLEAR FAIL: less than 55 (out of 90)

How can I sit for a CCL test?

Applications to sit a CCL Test must be submitted online via the NAATI website. Individuals will also need to attach a passport photograph and a scan of an appropriate identity document (e.g. passport) to apply. Passport must be in PDF format and Passport photo has to be in JPEG format.

How long it takes for the result to be published?

It can take up to 8 weeks for the test result to be published.

What are the fees for CCL test?


Can I sit for the exam, if I fail?

Yes! You can sit for the exam again if you are unsuccessful. But keep it in mind that giving a CCL test is comparatively expensive and time consuming, We always recommend our students to sit for the exam with proper preparation and pass in your first attempt.

How Can I book the exam?

Please simply follow the link below to book your CCL test:

Book Exam Now 

We are currently successfully providing NAATI CCL training in 10 deferent languages and we have the highest success rate across Australia . Please see our success here.

Source: NAATI Official Website 



You might also enjoy

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin